Artist Q+A: @kur_t

After taking a short hiatus Kurt is back in the collage game, using both analogue and digital mediums he creates strange collages with religious, supernatural and space themes, although collage is his primary medium he also enjoys photography.

unnamed

Q: Tell me about your art how you started, what made you start and why you continue?

I started by making random little collages on my phone using apps to kill time on the train and then I realised that cut and paste collage is a thing so just grabbed a magazine, started cutting and here we are. I keep creating cause I find it’s a good way to make ideas/thoughts tangible and it’s cool to see how people perceive your ideas.

 

Q: What’s your dream job?

I’d love to be an archaeologist or like a museum curator

 

Q: What’s the primary message behind your art?

I suppose there isn’t really any message in my art, isn’t it subjective? I mean beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I’m just trying to make my ideas reality if someone get some sort of message from it its a bonus.

 

unnamed-1

Q: What’s your background? Have you always been involved in art?

I’ve always enjoyed creative stuff I took art in every school back then the only mediums we really used were painting and photography, but when I graduated I just stopped maybe due to not having that structure school gives but I did eventually get back into it doing a little photography and now I’m doing collage.

Q: Which creative medium would you love to pursue but haven’t yet?

I want to try incorporating painting into my collages maybe painting backgrounds or empty spaces.

 

Q: Who/what do you get influenced by?

Other collage artists, movies, religion, history, current events

 

unnamed

 

Q: Analogue or digital?

I love using both separately and/or together.

 

Q: How do you approach an artwork? What’s the first step?

Most of the time I’ll have an idea then just start by flipping through books and National Geographic Magazines until I see stuff that fits the idea other times it’s like the opposite I’ll just cut out random stuff and see how I can put them together to create an idea.

 

Q: Night time or day time?

Night

Leave a Reply

